I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 188

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Frank F. Blas, Jr. Edward J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

James V. Espaldon

Mark Forbes

Judith Paulette Guthertz, DPA

Frank T. Ishizaki

J. A. Lujan

Tina Rose Muña Barnes

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Dr. David L.G. Shimizu

J. T. Won Pat, Ed. D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of its Eighty-fourth (84th) Anniversary, its Member Anniversary celebrants, and commending its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce was established in 1924
- 4 with the goal to unite individuals to improve business and build a better
- 5 community; and

1 WHEREAS, on April 26, 1924, prominent businessmen, including,

2 Pedro Martinez, Chester Carl Butler, H.U. Umstad, Baltazar J. Bordallo,

3 William G. Johnston, J.M. Gillespie and A.H. White, chartered the Guam

Chamber of Commerce, contributing many measures and economic resources

5 to enhance the organization; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has provided business people with a venue to cooperate, make our community a better place in which to live and work, and also promote the orderly growth and development of the business community for more than eight (8) decades; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has helped numerous small businesses open their doors, prosper and grow, thus fostering the growth of our local economy and further serving our people; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce consists of more than three hundred twenty (320) members and continues to grow every year; and

WHEREAS, twenty-seven (27) member companies of the Guam Chamber of Commerce have celebrated, or will be celebrating, twenty (20) to seventy (70) years of servicing Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce instituted the first Guam Business Hall of Fame to honor those Guam businessmen and businesswomen who have demonstrated a strong vision and ability to improve the economic growth within our island; and

WHEREAS, among the first inductees to the Guam Business Hall of Fame were the founding members of the Guam Chamber of Commerce: Pedro Pangelinan Martinez, Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., Jesus Sablan Leon Guerrero,

- 1 Governor Joseph Flores, and Eduardo Torres Calvo; and
- 2 WHEREAS, in 1998 the Guam Chamber of Commerce formed the
- 3 Armed Forces Committee, to promote Guam as a rest and relaxation
- 4 destination for armed forces in the area and to increase local business
- 5 opportunities by contracting with the military; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has maintained the
- 7 involvement with and the support of community projects over several years,
- 8 including, the Guam Juvenile Drug Court Program, the Summer Youth
- 9 Swimming and Water Safety Program, the Annual Christmas Program, and
- 10 the Dave J. Santos Scholarship, beautification projects, and a Guam Police
- 11 Department Partnership; and
- WHEREAS, this year's anniversary of the Guam Chamber of Commerce
- also marks the Fifty-seventh (57th) Anniversary of Perez Bros., Inc.; the Forty-
- 14 seventh (47th) Anniversary of Bank of Hawaii; the Forty-second (42nd)
- 15 Anniversary of Xerox Corporation; the Thirty-seventh (37th) Anniversary of
- 16 3M Company, Deloitte & Touche, LLP, DFS Guam, Guam Capital Investment
- 17 Corporation (GCIC), McDonald's Restaurant of Guam, and Moylan's
- 18 Insurance Underwriters, Inc.; the Thirty-second (32nd) Anniversary of Blair,
- 19 Sterling, Johnson, Moody, Martinez, and Leon Guerrero, P.C., Denson Guam,
- 20 Personal Finance Center and Travel Pacificana; the Twenty-seventh (27th)
- 21 Anniversary of National Office Supply and Northwest Airlines; the Twenty-
- 22 second (22nd) Anniversary of Alupang Beach Club, David DDB, Denight
- 23 Marketing Group, Gerald Woo + Co., JMI Electrical & Air Conditioning,
- 24 Marianas Credit Bureau, NBK Trading Corporation, Pacific Unlimited Inc.,

1 PMT Guam Corporation, Quality Distributors, and Sanford Technology

2 Group, LLC; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, congratulate the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of its Eighty-fourth (84th) Anniversary, and commend the hard work, commitment and accomplishments of the Guam Chamber of Commerce leadership of its members, who are the driving force behind its achievements and for their invaluable contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the President of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Reina A. Leddy; to the Executive Committee of the 2008 Guam Chamber of Commerce, Board of Directors, Chairwoman Laura-Lynn Dacanay; to Vice Chairman, Paul L. Blas; to Joe M. Arnett, Secretary-Treasurer; to David J. John; Special Executive Committee

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 3RD DAY OF MAY 2008.

Member; to Steven C. Ruder, Immediate Past Chairman; and to the Honorable

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker and

Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

Chairperson, Executive Committee

FINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature